December 14, This Day In American History

mwh52 - nominated as the most influential blog

December 14, 1799 – The Death of George Washington At 10:00 p.m. on December 14, 1799, George Washington died at his Mt. Vernon home after five decades of service to his country. His last words reportedly were: “I feel myself going. I thank you for your attentions; but I pray you to take no more trouble about me. Let me go off quietly. I cannot last long.” Washington was sixty-seven years old. After the Revolutionary War, Washington hoped to live as a gentleman farmer in Virginia, yet he repeatedly deferred this wish in order to serve his country. Called to the presidency in 1789, he told the citizens of Alexandria, Virginia, on April 16 of that year, “my love of retirement is so great, that no earthly consideration, short of a conviction of duty, could have prevailed upon me to depart from my resolution ‘never more to take any share…

View original post 120 more words

About mwh52. nominated as the most influential blog

nominated as the most influential blog
This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

